Welcome to the 100 Oaks Project!

The “100 Oaks Project” blog is now up and running.  We invite you to share the journey, as Bill continues to locate and document the 100 oldest live oaks in the Gulf Coast region, as recorded in the Live Oak Society register.

The project’s purpose is to document and record the images, current measurements, locations (with some exceptions due to shifting landscapes and passing time) and histories of the trees, their sponsors and, occasionally, their saviours.

We hope you enjoy the journey–and look forward to hearing from you.– Bill & Cyndi

7 thoughts on “Welcome to the 100 Oaks Project!

  1. WOW what beautiful trees! The pictures are wonderful. I love the live oak but seeing all the other different types of oaks was neat. Thanks for all the information. Thank you!

  2. I love your photographs I had no idea about the live oak society it is very interesting. I was also wondering if your pictures are copy write or if i could uses them as art in my home? I would be willing to pay a small fee to be able to get large prints of your work but be kind i am on a budget.

  3. I have a few oak trees on my property. Love these trees! Would be nice to know how old these trees are. One of them 18 feet and 8 in and the rest of them are not too far behind in size. I look at this site and realized that I may be lucky one to have these great giants in my yard. This site opened my eyes –now I will treasure them even more. I like the site and pictures. Thank you.

    • Tatiana, according to Dr. Stephens, founder of the live oak society, any oak with a girth (circumference) of 17 feet was estimated to be at least 100 years old. The 18 foot tree is well over that mark (my guess would be about 150 yrs. depending on where you live and how rich the soil is on your land). Probably your trees were planted sometime near the end of the 1800s which means you probably live in a rural area. Most of the city oaks were planted later in the 1920s and 30s when there was a move within the state of Louisiana to plant live oaks in urban areas. Take care of them and they should last twice as long as they have already. Thanks for visiting our blog.

      Bill Guion

Leave a Reply

